DataLab Training Schedule
 

DataLab training must be undertaken in person before using the DataLab. Training is usually run on-site at ABS offices, although other locations may also be arranged.

DataLab training is usually run as a half-day session. This may also be combined with a half-day of TableBuilder training for an additional cost (dependent on resource availability and sufficient number of attendees).


TRAINING PREREQUISITES

Responsible Officer Undertaking: All organisations that access microdata must have a Responsible Officer Undertaking in place.

Experience in statistical analytical languages: DataLab users must be experienced in one of the analytical languages available within the DataLab. If clients do not have knowledge of these analytical languages, they are advised to seek guidance and expertise within their organisation prior to using microdata. The DataLab environment contains up to date versions of SAS, SPSS, Stata and R analytical languages.

Statistical experience: Users must have sufficient knowledge, experience and statistical capability necessary for handling information, as well as a commitment to protecting and maintaining the confidentiality of data. This may be through statistical qualifications or research experience.

Registration: Users must be registered and joined to their organisation in the Registration Centre.

The Individual Undertaking and Declaration of Compliance must not be submitted until after training has been completed.


UPCOMING DATALAB TRAINING SESSIONS AND LOCATIONS

If you would like to access microdata in the DataLab, select a training session below. Use the Enrol now links to email the ABS about the session you are interested in attending and an ABS staff member will contact you. Training dates are tentative and dependent on sufficient number of attendees.

You can email the ABS at microdata.access@abs.gov.au to request a training session in another location, including Darwin, Hobart or Perth. These may be arranged with a minimum of ten attendees.

Users from organisations who have not yet been approved to access microdata should see How to apply to arrange a subscription before booking a training session.

SydneyEmail your interest to enrol
Monday 4 June 2018Enrol now
Thursday, 7 June 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 7 August 2018Enrol now
Wednesday, 8 August 2018Enrol now
Wednesday, 10 October 2018Enrol now
Thursday, 11 October 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 18 December 2018Enrol now
Wednesday, 19 December 2018Enrol now
.
CanberraEmail your interest to enrol
Wednesday, 13 June 2018Enrol now
Thursday, 14 June 2018Enrol now
Monday, 13 August 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 14 August 2018Enrol now
Monday, 15 October 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 16 October 2018Enrol now
Monday, 10 December 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 11 December 2018Enrol now
.
MelbourneEmail your interest to enrol
Monday, 18 June 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 19 June 2018Enrol now
Monday, 10 September 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 11 September 2018Enrol now
Monday, 3 December 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 4 December 2018Enrol now
.
BrisbaneEmail your interest to enrol
Monday, 25 June 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 26 June 2018Enrol now
Monday, 17 September 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 18 September 2018Enrol now
Monday, 26 November 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 27 November 2018Enrol now
.
AdelaideEmail your interest to enrol
Monday, 4 June 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 5 June 2018Enrol now
Monday, 3 September 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 4 September 2018Enrol now
Monday, 3 December 2018Enrol now
Tuesday, 4 December 2018Enrol now


PRIVACY POLICY

The ABS privacy policy outlines how the ABS handles any personal information that you provide to us.